Skip to content

The Roubo is “done”

February 24, 2013

IMG_3259_overallIMG_3260_vice IMG_3261_joint

My new bench was made mostly with handtools following the general principles from the Workbench books by Christopher Schwarz.  The legs are 6x6s from Home Depot, the top is 8/4 Beech and 8/4 Maple, with an additional layer of pine 2x6s for added thickness.  The stringers and the shelf are pine 2×6 or 2×4.

Overall it has been a success.  I definitely learned a ton doing making it, but that will be the subject of another post.

The leg vice uses the wood screws that I made earlier; all total it can crush something about 6″ thick before I run out of threads.

Like all major projects this one is pretty much never ending.  I’m going to finish drilling the line of bench dog holes as I need them.  Also I’m going to put on a planing stop just past the leg vice on the end.

The bench has not had any finish applied as I live in a wintery state and until I can open up the windows… it will stay unfinished.

From → workbench

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment